Do unborn/ young babies who die go to hell?

With abortion, miscarriages, SIDS, and other sad things that cut short the life of our babies in this world- the question of what happens to these babies and young kids who die comes up. Some denominations teach that because of “original sin”, that all are guilty from the womb, that many of them are predestined for hell. But is that what the Bible teaches?

Jesus called them unto him, and said, Suffer little children to come unto me, and forbid them not: for of such is the kingdom of God. Verily I say unto you, Whosoever shall not receive the kingdom of God as a little child shall in no wise enter therein.  -Luke 18:16-17

Jesus indicated that the young ones were “the kingdom of God” and said to us adults that we need to receive the kingdom of God “as a little child” if we wish to go to heaven. I have always believed this passage shows us that when children are very young they are already right with God if they perish before “the age of reasoning”. Is the age of reasoning 5? 7? 13? That would probably depend on the child but I suspect it is closer to 5 than it is to the 13 that many people historically have taught.

But now he is dead, wherefore should I fast? can I bring him back again? I shall go to him, but he shall not return to me. -2 Samuel 12:23

In the passage above King David was referring to a young child that was born out of an affair he had. David fasted in hopes to keep the child alive but after the child already died David said “I shall go to him, but he shall not return to me”. So he is saying that the child won’t return to earth, but David will “go to him” in heaven when he dies. That looks like a pretty conclusive Scripture saying that the unborn and young children who die will be with the Lord.

 

Leave a comment